I much preferred the layout of the album and quality from Zno when Both had arrived, it gave a more professional and expensive look and feel, with soft feeling cover and inserts, the large pages were more sturdy and felt as though they would be long lasting in comparison to the smaller more flimsier album from Saal. The first album created is a better album to present to clients in order to represent my business, its looks modern and well made which is what I was hoping to receive, the Zno album will be used as a final submission along with my 11 prints as I feel it strengthens my portfolio.

During my project I have used a number of software programmes to edit my images. I have been experimenting in the different presets available that help to create a professionally produced and edited image that would suit the needs of my audience, the people I have been aiming my project towards are families, specifically families that thrive on creating memories through the use of photography. To be able to appeal to my audience I needed to find the right software that enabled me to create images that are consistent and go well together.

I began with Photoshop, this has been to main go to software for me during my degree, specifically because I find it easy to use, the tools in Photoshop have helped me with converting images, resizing and general adjustments. I found that Photoshop was particularly good when converting the images ready for printing, Using the layer option to create an image layout preset, I used this option to make sure that all my images were all correctly sized and with the dpi set to 300 per inch and RGB colour, which enabled me to set all images ready for printing, I found that Photoshop was the easiest software to use for this process, making it simple quick and easy to do.

Screenshot 2017-05-09 13.19.42.png

Not only was this software the one I felt more comfortable with but it offered tools that allowed me to adjust the exposure and levels when needed. My images needed to have consistency so that they all fit together nicely to create a set of images that worked with my brief to conclude my proposal ideas, so using editing techniques that created a vibrant but delicate image to suit my style of photography.

My personal style of photography is to create detailed but delicate images, these are images that focus on whats important in the image, with out unnecessary distractions, to create a personal image but in a professional manner. To create a unique style I have opted to creating close up images with direct focus on the person or people I am photographing making the image personal to them, as well as cutting out distractions and keeping editing to  minimal to produce realistic images of real life rather than over edited photographs that eliminate the true likeness of the person or people I the image.

As well as using my own style I have made sure that my images have been created with the client in mind meaning all important aspects of them and their preferences are captured in the photograph I produce.

I looked into other software that can offer subtle editing for my images, looking at light room I found that the editing of images and saving was very beneficial this meant that the original was always saved as well as the edited image, file transfer and upload was also more easily accessible than Photoshop which helped when I had large numbers of images to edit, it made the process quicker.

Screenshot 2017-05-09 13.15.53.png

I had downloaded Light room and gone through the tutorial which had explained all the settings it had to offer, I found that the preset option in Light room was good for quick processing of images, this made keeping images consistent in the way they were edited was much easier, I could create a preset which I could then apply to a file of all images meaning the editing time was quicker, this can save me time when producing large numbers of images for weddings for example which I have been photographing throughout my time at University.

Screenshot 2017-05-09 13.19.01.png

The presets created a finishing touch to my images, again keeping with the consistency of the way I produce my images, when producing an album of a newborn the images need to be alike, a set of images all with different exposures, finishes etc will look messy and less professional when displayed in a Photo book to the client.

I had also looked at some software I had picked up whilst at the NEC photography show in Birmingham, Photo-director. This software is not only good for editing of images but offered a video editing software as well which is simple and easy to use, the layout of the programme is set out so it is easy to follow with all the editing tools and options, presets, etc in columns meaning you simply need to choose the option you require and scroll down the column to the required tools needed. The video software would be useful for thing such as the dance academy I have recently started a contract with, by enabling me to simply video the dance routines and take photo shots from that one file. this works the same for family or children shoots or even weddings. This although is a unique approach but simple way of taking imagery will be something I can consider if my work load increases and I find this something that will hep me during my career.

Screenshot 2017-05-09 13.11.54.png

This software other than the easy video editing also offered as like Light room a fast and easy way to add presets to images, again this could save time with the editing process of large numbers of files, the histogram in the left column was helpful when editing as I could monitor the changes as I was applying them to my images.

All in all the file manoeuvrability when uploading and saving was much easier and quicker with both Light room and Photo-director, this saved me time and made the editing process faster. The presets available on these two programmes made the bulk editing much simpler also and I found this helped with the consistency of my images, the Photo-director though I found had advantages when it came to the set up and layout of the tool options and simple column structure during editing. Light room however had the edge when it came to the presets, not only were they much more professional but there were more options when choosing a particular preset that suits the images, meaning that the finishing of the images were to a more professional standard.

Photoshop I feel although has been my main go to in photo editing is not as beneficial with the type of photography I am producing, although the resizing of images, with the use of levels was more efficient, and with tool options for tweaking of issues in images Photoshop was better, however I like to try and create images that need as little editing as possible so the need to airbrush or cut/chop is limited when it comes to the editing process. I like to aim to create images that are correct in camera, this limits the editing time and creates natural looking shots for clients, adding to my personal style of photography.

As well as editing software I have also worked with Saal design software, this I had downloaded in order to create photo books online that I can use both in my project and for sample books for clients, when going through the online process of creating my photo book I had to create specific layouts and look into how I want my images to be presented, this software didn’t have any editing process like the previous software I had used, meaning that all my images were re sized and edited before I had uploaded them into Saal design software in order for me to create my final product.

Screenshot 2017-05-09 14.21.02.png

When producing my album I needed to think about presentation and quality, I had chosen to keep with consistency and produce my images with a matte finish, I use matte for my images as this is a better way to produce albums, mainly because the matte finish looks professional when produced to clients, the pages are easier to handle and leave less finger marks, meaning that the album is more durable and holds the quality for longer, with a matte finish I find the images keep their quality and are less likely to fade over time and loose shine.

I produce all my albums in matte unless otherwise requested, for the reason above, I feel that the quality of the matte finish gives the album a unique but professional look, it doesn’t feel like a home album with the resemblance to shop printed images which will normally have a gloss finish but had a clean even texture.

Screenshot 2017-05-09 14.22.05.png

I found the Saal design software simple to use and it enabled me to create my own style of photo book, choosing my own finishes and layouts through out the book, I decided to go with a variety of layouts to give each page a new look, this then gave me an option to show all the possible choices of photo layouts available and to keep the book none repetitive, in order to keep people engaged.

I much preferred the layout of the album and quality from Zno when Both had arrived, it gave a more professional and expensive look and feel, with soft feeling cover and inserts, the large pages were more sturdy and felt as though they would be long lasting in comparison to the smaller more flimsier album from Saal. The first album created is a better album to present to clients in order to represent my business, its looks modern and well made which is what I was hoping to receive, the Zno album will be used as a final submission along with my 11 prints as I feel it strengthens my portfolio.

