The Family Bond

During my project I have looked into the testing of different techniques in which to take a portrait image, around my proposal ideas for my techniques & processes. I want to capture images based on Family portraiture, by venturing into a new Business sector;

Portraiture photography, with the aim to capture people and their families, such as home family portraits, Baby shoots and children’s portraits.

My take on Family Portraiture will be to emphasise what a family wants in their own family album; images that a client will expect when getting a family or children’s photography session. To find this information I will be conducting surveys aimed at the whole family and/or parents to find out what they expect from an image, this will help me to create images that suit my proposal.

I am currently using social media to advertise and look for new clients as well as recruit people who I can use in my project, by using social media I am able to get a wide variety of people to suit my ‘family’ images, these can be young, old, many, few, babies, etc. I will be able to create a range of family images that all represent the meaning of a family album yet have diversity at the same time.

I will be aiming to capture a series of ‘Perfect’ family photos, although the concept of a ‘perfect’ family may not be achievable I believe that we each have a personal idea or mental image of our own perfect family, this could be based on our own families, other families such as relatives or friends and maybe even families we see on TV.

The images I will be taking will be a selection of images that I feel represent what the clients would want to frame, images suitable for an album, fireplace or hallway! Creating images that people would like to show on social media. I will be capturing images that people are likely to be proud of, an image that portrays them as who they want others to see them as, a confident person/family, in essence a good image that shows where they are or where they feel they are in life.

Capturing memories is an important part in the family lifestyle leading me back to the question: why is it important to capture a happy family photograph? This I will be answering through the use of my photography.

Memories are built up on events we observe throughout our lives and quite often with the help of photographic imagery, I will be creating a visual representation of the meaning ‘family’ for others to observe, I want to create a set of my own style of portrait images that show this meaning as well as engaging the viewer in a detailed rendition to family portraiture; this will be images I have taken in a personal style, which is that of a plain none distracting background, with focus on the family members, including items of importance if required, such as; teddies, comforters, animals or jewellery. I want to create studio style images using the equipment I have available in the places I travel to take the images, as well as using my surroundings to my advantage to create a none cluttered or over stimulating image.

I feel that when taking images if we focus the image solely on the person or people present then it creates an important portrait of that person, involving only the items of importance if needed. This to me is my own idea of a perfect family photograph.

