Before taking images on my shoots for this project I had decided after coming across the problem of over exposure and shadows in my Techniques and processes module that I would practise with flash both indoor and outdoor so I could perfect the use of flash during my shoots.

I asked a fellow student to help me, we worked together and came up with solutions to the over or under exposure, changing angles of the flash gun, power and camera settings to get the correctly exposed image through the use of flash.

The first image was taken at f5.6 iso 100 and 1/125th exposure time. The flash was held at a 45 degree angle facing just above the subject, towards a white wall, this created too much of a shadow behind her, so adjusting the flash directly upwards, still reflecting off a white surface we shot again, this time eliminating the shadows.

Once we were happy with the exposure we went on to find a more suitable place to shoot, using the window as a background and with the full use of the out door lighting we decided to take our next shot, this time facing the flash towards the wall adjacent to the subject, the white wall bounced the light back onto the subject and with the use of both flash and outdoor lighting we were able to get a perfectly exposed image with out shadows.

From here we then decided to experiment with facing the flash at different surfaces.             Looking directly at the subject I aimed the flash upwards towards the white ceiling above, this gave us a bright but well exposed images again with out shadows,  the second image was taken with the flash facing directly onto the subject, this created a dark shadow around her, then finally with the flash facing the window, this technique didn’t create shadows but did create a yellow cast to the image. From these three techniques we found that the flash aimed toward the clear whit surface created the best exposed image, from these findings we then took an image in front of the window again facing the flash above to the white roof, this gave the effect we were wanting, a clearly exposed image with no shadows.

Changing roles I then helped Dominique with outdoor exposure using flash, I was sat in front of a grass patch on the college grounds with buildings around us, we used these buildings to bounce the light off, some were closer than others and some darker colours, we found when bouncing the flash from the darker buildings like the blue, it created a darker image, whereas bouncing the light from white buildings behind me gave more exposure to the image.

The first image was taken using the same settings as before, this gave us an image that was correctly exposed for the subject but still darker in the background, changing the f stop to f8 then created an even darker image, then aiming the flash towards me on the third image although did help t lighten the background over exposed my face. The first image of the set was the best exposed using these settings.

Shooting again Dominique then used f11 to shoot and a white building to bounce the flash, however this created a much darker under exposed image, changing the iso up to 400 then helped with the exposure but still created a slight over exposure on my face when the flash was aimed towards me, finally using these settings but bouncing the flash off of a closer white building gave the image an even exposure.

We then went on to taking more of the same images this time standing in a shaded area shooting towards the light.

Standing inside the tunnel she then shot the images of me outside, the first image was shot using f10 400 iso and full power on flash she aimed the flash above towards a grey roof in the tunnel, this then gave slight over exposure on my face but correctly lit the background, keeping the settings the same but bringing the flash power down to half helped to keep both myself and the background at the same exposure, then finally using the flash aimed towards the wall of the tunnel, this gave a orange cast the image, I feel this was because of the sandy coloured walls, we both found that the second image was the best of the set.

It was then my turn to take some images from inside the tunnel, My first shot was taken using the same settings we had when shooting outwards from the tunnel and using the wall to bounce flash, this I found was way too dark so adjusting the flash location to face the roof I shot again, this was still under exposing my shot so bringing the flash back up to full power from half then over exposed my image.

On the last set of images I had decided to change the direction of the flash keeping it on ful power but facing it towards the roof, then changing my fstop to f8 gave me more light, I felt this help with the exposure of the image as seen in the second image of the second set. On my last image with the flash on full power and bouncing off the grey roof I then decided to change my fstop again, this time to f5.6 this then gave me a much better exposed image, these settings I felt were best for the location we were in, this gave a correct exposure to both the subject and the background and eliminated shadows as te flash was bounced off of objects rather than directly at the subject.

From doing these testings I found that experimenting when in different locations helped me judge how I should have both my flash and camera settings, by letting in more light using a wider aperture and using white and grey surfaces to bounce light into my images, helping me get the exposure I needed as well as lowering both the flash power and a smaller aperture to darken images when over exposed, I will be using these techniques in my upcoming shoots through out my module.

