I have been working with other students during my project to create a colour image from film, we worked together to create images using a Mamiya medium format camera;

As a group we used the same settings on the camera to get the perfect image in the location we were in, I adjusted the focus and shot my image using f5.6, iso 100 by using a digital camera we placed in the same place we had the film camera we took an image to see what the image looked like using the same settings we had chosen on the Mamiya.

We had already set up some lights using a large portable battery pack to plug the lights in, and faced them towards where we were shooting.

From this point we all took turns to focus our image and take a shot of our model, This image we then took from the negatives produced and enlarged the image using an enlarger; with magenta at 56 yellow at 23 and 0 for cyan.

I started off with a selection of exposure times on my images from 4 seconds up to 24 in 4 second intervals at f5.6, this then showed me the exposure on each section so I was able to decide the best exposure time for my image, I chose to do another strip using the same process this time at f8 and again using the 4 second intervals, between 8-12 second were the best exposure of my image.

Exposing my image at 12 seconds created a darker image and I had chosen to try this again but using a 10 second exposure, this gave me the correct exposure of the whole image I was hoping for.

After experimenting with the black and white film and creating our 7×5 image we were then asked to look into making our 7×5 negative bigger, this would be something I would need to know if I was to produce images in this style as customers will often ask for larger/smaller or multiple size images.

I looked into producing a 20×24 print using the 7×5 negative I now had and looked into a website specifically for producing these large images from negatives, It works by using a pod whitch is a  foil packet with special seals designed to break under pressure when passing through rollers, allowing the reagent to spread evenly between the negative and positive rolls and begin the development process.

these pods go into pod machine specifically designed to create the large prints using the small negatives, this is however a process that is very limited, with the machines being far and few between only a few places still have the option to produce large prints from the small negatives.

This causes a dilemma when producing images for customers, I have to first consider the cost of getting large prints made and incorporate this into my price, which could cause a problem with being able to gain customers when considering the processing time.

I also thought about the images I will be producing and found that creating prints from each negative is a much more lengthy process than producing images from digital, by having the option to look at the image first I can then decide how to take the next shot, changing setting, composition etc, the use of film can make this step harder as the image you produce will not be seen until the processing stage, and then of course there is the price I must consider as well as travelling to get images produced, space needed and equipment if I plan on using my own dark room, all in all I feel that for my line of work as I need to be able to produce many images and quickly then digital is the only reasonable option for time and money.

 

