During my project I have tried different types of software to edit my images, Some I found much easier to use than others and have found my most preferred software for editing.

We were shown how to use the capture one software Whilst in college, In groups we worked from a hand out sheet and tried the software.

We took images on the camera then uploaded them directly to Capture one as they were taken, this I found quite helpful as it made editing the images straight away alot quicker, however if I was to shoot for a wedding then this option wouldn’t be as effective. It was helpful however whilst we were taking the images in the studio, we were able to bring the image up and look closely at the lighting and composition and even edit the image straight away before taking some more images, following this process.

We took some shots with our tutor as a group in the studio of a sphere, the images then were shown directly to us on capture one, here we could then see the change in light as we adjusted out camera settings and the background lights, I had held a white reflector below the sphere to light it from beneath. As we were looking at the image as it was taken this proved to be a very easy way to adjust the light either by changing the lighting in the studio or by using the editing software in capture one.

The downside I found to capture one was it was very much like light room with it being a file saving software, I did find it helpful in the studio but as I would be focusing on wedding photography this wouldn’t be of much benefit to me. My main concern was trying to figure out how to use the software but by looking online I was able to find a few helpful tutorials.

After viewing the video I found it a little easier to understand and will look into using this at a later date when I start becoming a professional wedding photographer, the preferences can be saved to keep editing easier.

Above are some screen shots of the process we went through to take, upload, categorise and edit the images using the software using the hand out sheet given to us.

As well as using Capture one I also took a free trial of light room this I found very similar to both Photoshop and Capture one the file organisation was very much like the Capture one software where as the editing I found to be similar to that of Photoshop, The good side to Light room is that the pre-sets can be saved so editing is a quicker process and multiple files can be edited in the same way, this I found very helpful and as a wedding photographer having hundreds of files to edit, this could save me some time, It took me a while to get used to the software as I have only got a Photoshop subscription at the moment so again I looked online at some helpful tutorials, I also found that upon set up the adobe software installation gives you a brief explanation of how to use the software which I also found beneficial.

This video was very helpful, it shows you a step for step series of processes when getting the new software, It made looking at light room very simple starting off wit the categories going on to editing and adding watermarks.

Light room also allows you to email directly from the software, you can add these pre-sets in for future processes and would be very ideal when emailing images to customers, this is some software after I looked into using it I would want to purchase when I start to edit my wedding images.

The last of the software that I have used during my project is Photoshop, this I am most familiar with and find it really simple to use, By editing the RAW file first then opening it in Photoshop it enables me to get the correct colour balance, levels, exposure, etc.

I have used Photoshop for most f my images mainly because as I have been using it since I started my Photography Degree and feel comfortable with the software.

Although I do feel more at ease with Photoshop I will definitely be looking into purchasing the Light room software as well, the file sharing and easily categorised, stored and emailed files make multiple editing a faster process.

The images I have taken for my brief have been edited in Photoshop using things such as the levels and curves option to balance my colour, I have also used the brush tool to blend in any edited areas and the select tool to edit only certain sections, all these options are also available with the other software so once I have had chance to get the subscription I believe the editing process will become a lot faster and more efficient.

 

