The day before our photography class were to work with the MUA students in the studio I had a go at some test shoots, trying out the different use of the reflectors to get the desired effect.

I asked one of my classmates to assist me by doing wacky poses as I adjusted the lighting and placement of the reflectors, the idea behind this was to get used to asking people to ‘pull faces’ or ‘give us a wink’ just to allow the model and ourselves to feel relaxed and comfortable, this creates a much better image as the model will look more at ease in the images, it also allows me to get a nice selection of images to give back to the MUA students, this is something that can secure a business partnership, if the client is happy with my body of work then I am more likely to work with them again or even get recommendations rather than handing over a very plain set of images.

I found this exercise very useful as it allowed me to get used to the settings we had in the studio and found myself growing in confidence when speaking to the person I was photographing.

I found that by moving the soft box of the above light as well as the two white reflector boards at either side either closer or further away this helped to adjust the light bouncing off my model, the specular highlight was mainly on the forehead so to make this less bright and over exposed I moved the overhead light and soft box further down so as not to aim directly onto the head, I found this really helped and gave a much more neutral colour.

When moving the two reflectors I found with my model wearing black they were much better closer, this allowed the light to bounce back off the white reflectors and bring some highlights into his clothes, this made him stand out and gave the image a much lighter look, meaning that the clothes were not fading into the background.

I asked him to do a few smiles, winks and poses to give the set of images some variety, When looking back over my images I much preferred the landscape images where I had asked him to to stand with his shoulder facing the camera, this then allowed me to align his face with the direction of his shoulder and gave a very central and symmetrical pose, by cutting out the lower of the body the image is focused mainly on the face and thus getting rid of any unnecessary distractions which is what I would need to be thinking about during the MUA shoot as the makeup was the main feature.

ContactSheet-001

