During my brief I had decided to look into other artists who can provide me with inspiration for my project, as I had already decided that I wanted to do low light portraiture I searched for other artists that took part in this type of photography, I was able to find one artist on Instagram who had a series of low key photography, I visited his site A.A. Photography and took a look through his album.

https://www.behance.net/gallery/3261749/AA-Photography-Low-Key-Portraits

His images were a selection of low light portraits, his first image of the gentleman smoking i found interesting so decided to give this a go during my test shoots, I was happy with the result however decided not to use this image in my final photos mainly because I felt it was not as strong as some of the other images, although I had managed to capture the shot as I had expected it lacked the definition or my subject unlike some of the other shots I had taken.

I also liked how he had used a hard light to highlight the side of the face of his subjects, this I found interesting and applied this to my shoots, as I was wanting to create a profile I found that this gave a slight mystery to the photo, letting you see only a certain amount of detail, this gives you an outline of the person, it makes you focus in on their facial details taking a personal look at them as a person rather than just as a photo.

I also did a google search of low light photography to bring up a few images for ideas, of all the images I was mainly drawn to the images where highlight are been used, these I feel give you more of a definition of the person in the photograph.

I also took a look at two online photographers who I had contacted, Their images were more or a documentary style but still held the same meaning I wanted to show in my own photography.

https://ceciliacostello.co.uk/pages/galleries.php?gallery=children

Cecillia Takes location photography, her albums consist of family, children and babies and bumps, although she hasn’t been taking low light photography she has however done a series of documentary style children’s images, this type of photography also fits in with my proposal of showing the person and their interests rather than a staged shoot, this type of photography shows you the person and their hobbies and shows their true self through capturing them in their natural location.

http://www.roscoerutter.com/Portraiture

Helen did a series of lifestyle portraits, here she has captured the people in their place of work wearing their suits or blouses, she has documented their lifestyle as like I wanted to do in my images only I want to capture the personality at home rather than their place of work.

