I was asked to take a photo of an outdoor scene using the street lights to illuminate my image, I decided to go out onto my street and use the street lighting available to take an image.

I took my image using a slow shutter speed of 15 seconds, I was able to get a nice soft glow from the street lights this way but did encounter some slight camera wobble which caused the top left hand side of the image to become blurred slightly, it isn’t too obvious and I am generally happy with the image, however to do this shoot again I would use a faster shutter speed and hopefully wouldn’t get any camera wobble.

night shot

From taking this shot I have learned that using street lights to illuminate the scene work really well to highlight all the objects around the area, as long as i experiment with my settings when taking night shots i should be able to use this technique to take some shots for my brief using street lighting.

