After gaining experience during this project I decided to evaluate the usefulness of what I have learned;

Colour Darkroom – After having a go at using colour film and learning the process of developing my own colour prints from negatives I went through a list of pros and cons to this exercise;

Pros

  • I am able to use this as a skill for any potential photography jobs that may require the use of a darkroom.
  • I understand the process of how negatives are use to form prints.
  • If a future customer was to request the use of film I am able to produce photos from negatives.
  • If i get access to a darkroom I can use it to develop film prints if I wanted.

Cons 

  • Darkroom photography isn’t as popular now a days.
  • The developing time is time consuming.
  • You cant see the image until after it has been developed, so this leaves little margin for error.
  • Not many people request film photography for weddings or portrait shoots.
  • You cant produce as many photos at a small cost.
  • photos are harder to edit, so no photoshop with out a scanner.
  • It can be expensive as the equipment is not as readily available i.e. paper, film, etc.
  • Its easier to make mistakes during the developing process, and with no back up images these are the only ones.

Own studio Photos – I had the use of my own studio during this project and took many images with the use of my own equipment, again here are bullet point of the pros and cons;

Pros 

  • It has enabled me to use my own equipment and get used to the settings needed.
  • I have gained confidence in using my own equipment.
  • I know the space I am limited to and how to use it appropriately.
  • I can use this for advertisement or promotion.
  • I can use this in my own time and build a portfolio.

Cons

  • I wasn’t able to change the settings of the lights, so had to work with what I had.
  • I didn’t get to use a professional studio to produce my images.

Outdoor Photo Shoot – I took images outside using ambient lighting to get some portrait photos, here are my pros and cons for this exercise;

Pros

  • This was a good exercise for future outdoor photo shoots such as weddings.
  • I was able to use the lighting to get some good portrait shoots.
  • I was able to practise using outdoor lighting to light my subject.
  • I can build a portfolio using the images i got from this shoot.
  • Outdoor settings are free and easily accessible for future shoots.

Cons

  • I was unable to adjust the lighting.
  • Some images came out over or under exposed.
  • I couldn’t control or predict the weather.
  • some people would prefer to be indoors.

Animal Photography – I took some test shots using kittens as the subjects, and evaluated the good and bad points of this;

Pros

  • I can use these to show potential customer who would like animal photography.
  • I have used these for developing my skills with the use of the studio lighting and settings.
  • I know how to work with small animals.

over all, all my skills are helpful in different ways, the use of colour darkroom photography is probably the least likely skill i will need in the future, mainly because the film photography isn’t as widely used now and not many people request film over digital. Film is also a lot more time consuming and less cost effective than digital, I don’t plan on using this after my course but will always have the knowledge and skills if needs be.

All my photo shoots have been helpful in gaining my experience in outdoor and studio photography, which I plan on using through out my career, by using these skills I am able to put this to good use when advertising professionally.

